evergleam: (btvs - willow will fuck your shit up)
[personal profile] evergleam
1. Happy birthday to my fabulous roomie, [livejournal.com profile] _freyja_. Sorry Wednesdays suck for you, Laura, but spring break is soon!

2. While I'm at the GBP-ing, happy birthday to [livejournal.com profile] puppetoflove as well. Hope you had a great day!

3. I just watched the first two episodes of Sports Night.
Okay, so the pilot didn't really impress me at all. The laugh track threw me off (that goes away, right?) and the characterizations seemed much too cartoony to me. Also, as soon as Joshua Malina showed up, all I could think was "HiWillIhateyoupleasedienowkthxbi." (Keep in mind, I haven't seen much of S4 WW, so all I know of Will's character is S6 crappiness, hence the Will-hate.) So I can't get into his character at all, so he will always just be Will to me.

But it got a whole lot better in episode two. Soooo much love for Dan. That thing at the end of the second episode with the apology to his dead little brother? I totally didn't see it coming and it totally didn't make me cry or anything. Nope. I'm also a fan of the boss, Issac? The spunky assistant is kind of annoying, and I'm hoping the producer who's name I forget get's cooler, cause I feel like she could go either way. I liked her interaction with Casey about the forks and whisks. That was cute and fun.

So yay. More Sports Night for me. After tonight's West Wing that is. Oh, and also? Does Aaron Sorkin really think he can "raise the level of public debate" through television shows? :P

4. Also, I have watched through Business Unfinished of S1 Dead Like Me.

--Rube is absolutely as awesome as I remember him being. He has yet to disappoint me, and I loved his foray into short order cookery. My favorite thing about him is that he calls George Peanut. Cause that pretty much sums him up, I think. (Also, there was that whole joke about indigestion as a metaphor for how he constantly feels when dealing with George. That's a good sumation of Rube, too, I think.)

--Mason. Mason Mason Mason. Ohhhh Mason. I love you.

--Daisy annoys the crap out of me, but I guess she's supposed to and I'm guessing she'll get cooler. The only time I like her is when she interacts with Mason, because she's deliciously brutal and it's never unfunny.

--Is it wrong that I miss Betty? Cause I do. Cause she was cool. I remember watching that one when it aired and not believing that they'd just "kill" Rebecca Gayheart off like that. Grrr. Although, it may have been worth it just for the post-it Rube left.

--Roxy is also one of my favorite characters. The thing she did with the soul removal on the jackass guy was so utterly fabulous that I'm still not over it. Also, how hilariously sad is it that she was strangled by a sock over a patent for legwarmers? Has anyone looked up who actually came up with those legwarmers? Cause they should.

--I'm not a fan of the continuing George's-family-is-a-mess storyline. I hate her mother and the only person in her family even remotely interesting is Reggie. I'm hoping they stop checking in on them so much soon. It's always jarring to the overall story of the episode to flip back and forth.

--Will someone please spoil me and tell me whether George and Mason start making out soon? Cause I need it so much and I will be highly disappointed if it doesn't happen.

5. Finished my Latin America Midterm of Dooooom today. I think I may have actually done well on it, so yay.

6. And hey, Ashley. I really like this Sigur Ros album. I should have it back to you tonight. What's the name of it again?

(no subject)

Date: 2005-03-09 06:32 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] roxyoi301.livejournal.com
hehe, I'm glad you liked it :) I'm leaving sometime tomorrow around 3. so if you don't get it to me tonight, no worries, i'll be around tomorrow. plus if i'm not home, you can always just come up and put them on the desk or something. and if i don't see/talk to you ....have an awesome spring break dahling

(no subject)

Date: 2005-03-09 08:58 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] evergleam83.livejournal.com
Are you still awake? Call me if you are. Otherwise I will get them to you in the morning.:)

(no subject)

Date: 2005-03-09 06:42 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bellanut.livejournal.com
I love Rube too! Is this your first time watching, or are you going back for a second go? Part of your comment made me think you had watched it before and another part made me think you hadn't.

The peanut thing kills me too. Has anyone ever been more loveable? Probably not.

I missed Betty a lot too! I was devistated when she left so suddenly! I think I helf a grudge on Daisy for a while, but she really did grow on me eventually :)

Yeah, I can't think coherently. I just love everything about the show, and pretty much agree with all your thoughts. I'm a Daisy/Mason shipper though, exept that I pretty much agree with any sort of making out :)

(no subject)

Date: 2005-03-09 08:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] evergleam83.livejournal.com
I had seen through Daisy's first episode when it aired originally, and then I went back to school where I no longer had Showtime and missed everything after that. So I'm Netflixing the first season to catch up, and I'm hoping S2 comes out soon. :P

And you're right. I think I would just like to see Mason getting some action. ;)

And don't worry, I can't think coherently at all. :P Although, I did forget to mention that I also love Delores, cause she has some of the funniest off-the-wall lines of anyone on the show.

welcome to the dark side

Date: 2005-03-10 03:48 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] crushw-eyeliner.livejournal.com
George and Mason have interaction on and off through out the brilliant second series, Daisy does grow as a character, but hell....we all know we want mason and george to get the hook up. Mala and I wrote fic about it, even. Though we haven't finished it, because we are greedy whores and just languish in fictus interruptus land.

;)

Re: welcome to the dark side

Date: 2005-03-10 06:57 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] evergleam83.livejournal.com
Good. As long as there's some sort of interaction, I think it will satisfy me a little bit. And there's always fic. ;)

(no subject)

Date: 2005-03-10 10:10 am (UTC)
ext_10147: (Default)
From: [identity profile] hostile17girl.livejournal.com
Dude, I agree with all of your DLM thoughts. Daisy DOES get cooler. I know it's hard to believe right now, but she does.

Mason is the greatest. Truly.

(no subject)

Date: 2005-03-10 01:54 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] evergleam83.livejournal.com
I figured she would have to, in order to keep her around. It's nice to know that she actually does, though. I think initially it as the knee-jerk "you're not Betty!" reaction that made me dislike her so much, but she is growing on me.

And yes. Mason. I love him so.

West Wing & Sports Night

Date: 2005-03-23 02:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] afiesq.livejournal.com
I am a big fan of "The West Wing". I was a huge fan of "Sports Night", a show which was written and directed by the same Aaron Sorkin-led team that started "The West Wing".

It was pretty obvious, at first glance, that the Sorkin team was using actors from "Sports Night" on "The West Wing".

What is amazing is that a quick rundown of the actors on each show reveals that 26 actors have appeared on both. (More amazing is the fact I took the time to research that fact!)

Some have had large parts in both (like Joshua Molina, who played Jeremy on SN and Will Bailey on TWW); others have had a big part in one, small in the other (Felicity Huffman, now on "Desperate Housewives" was a key member of SN, and had a one-show shot on TWW).

But mostly, they have given work on TWW to cast members of SN. Some appear as reporters, or Secret Service Agents, or one shot characters. Big and small. Recognizable, and not.

I like that. It is a show of loyalty that is too often missing. Adam Sandler, Kevin Smith and Woody Allen are three others who come to mind, show business people that seem to take care of their own.

Profile

evergleam: (Default)
evergleam

February 2011

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
202122232425 26
2728     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags