evergleam: (Default)
[personal profile] evergleam
As predicted, I did spend a good portion of my final thinking about last night's Veronica Mars. I probably would have finished at least half an hour earlier if I'd been able to concentrate.

But, it does mean I have more thoughts! And they're (mostly) way more coherent than anything I posted last night.



Mostly, I'm wondering about Veronica/Logan and how that's going to play out next season. I think they're done. For now, at least. For a long time, probably.

Because how do you come back from that? How does Veronica ever say to him "You're indirectly responsible for one of the three most traumatic events in my life and your dad is directly responsible for the other two but hey, let's be friends again. And then we'll make out!" And how does Logan ever say to her "You know, you saw me at my absolute lowest and then made me trust you in a way I haven't with almost anyone else and then you accused me of killing the only other person I've ever really cared about, not to mention I treated you like crap for the better part of a year and it turns out that your dad was right and my dad caused all the problems anyway, but whatever! I still love ya!"

They don't, is how. I don't see how they can come back from that. They can build on it in a lot of interesting ways, since the two of them (kind of weirdly) have even more in common now, but there's definitely no going back, the way there might have been before Lilly's murder was solved. This kind of V/L angst I am totally excited about. It will also be interesting to see how the school reacts to Veronica after this, and if there will be a major role reversal as far as who hates whom and why next year. Will the 09ers still hate Veronica and accept Logan? Will they accept Veronica and hate Logan? Will they just torment them both? I'm not exactly sure which option I'd like to see more.

As far as the murderer reveal goes, I keep going back and forth. On first viewing last night, I was totally okay with it, and I thought it was super creepy and well-played. Harry Hamlin scared the crap out of me when he had Veronica locked in the fridge thingie. But the more I think about it, the more I don't like it. Partly for reasons that a lot of people have already stated--it makes all the character development for nothing, because Aaron really was just a psycho creep who only cared about himself. But also because I was hoping for something a little more sinister, I think. When I heard people float the Aaron-and-Lilly-were-having-an-affair theory originally, I didn't like it. I still don't, but mostly because I think in the back of my mind I still wanted it all to come back to the Kanes somehow, even with ghost!Lilly's assertion that no one in her family was a killer. I wanted there to be real motive behind the murder, not just Aaron worrying about his movie star image. (Although, I think I would have been okay with a Kane killing her in order to protect their image, so I'm not sure exactly what I mean here.)

The other thing, too, is that I just think it's too much. I mean, how does a character like Logan cope with all of this at once? It's the same reason I didn't want it to be Lianne (though it would have been theoretically really interesting). Veronica's already been through a hell of a lot, why pile that on as well? Why set up just how horrible Logan's life is, only to keep it coming and coming like that? I never thought I'd say this, but there just might be a place where the angst becomes overkill, and I think they may be approaching it.

Or, I could just be bummed the mistaken identity theory didn't pan out. :P

And I didn't think of it until [livejournal.com profile] _jems_ pointed it out, but what about Aaron's alibi? Clearly, he lied about it, but why was nothing made of this? They made a point to show that practically everyone else falsified their alibis in some way. And if Aaron and Lynn weren't out of the country when it happened, wouldn't Logan have known? And if he didn't for whatever reason, how did Aaron pull off making everyone think he was gone? Was Lynn out of the country and he stayed behind, and then called her begging her to cover for him and say he'd been with her? If so, why would she have done it, especially since she would have known that another woman was the reason he was staying behind? If not, then what? Were they both gone and he snuck back home somehow? Again, that begs the question, why did Lynn cover for him? Did she find out at any point what he did?

ETA: Also, I'm wondering just how long Lilly and Aaron's affair had been going on. Had they been seeing each other for a long time, a short period of time, or was there some sort of "playful" sexual flirtation going on that Lilly decided to act on to get back at Logan?

Too many questions, man. I know I'm not the only one hoping Logan's mom isn't dead and will come back and answer some of them next season.

Points of interest:
--Does Wallace know she was dating Logan? His "how long do you think you can avoid him" reaction kind of led me to believe Veronica told him about that, too, but I'm not sure.

--Keith is so so so in character with the Lianne thing it hurts. The fact that he would drop Alicia because he thought it was what Veronica wanted kills me, especially because you can feel the utter disdain he has for Lianne in every scene they had together.

--The interrogation scene may just be my favorite snarky!Logan scene ever. And Lamb is so perfectly matched for Logan it made me giddy just watching. Actually, every scene with Sheriff Lamb was pretty awesome. I absolutely loved how civil he was to Keith (cause at one point they had to at least respect each other right?), but still managed to get the dig in about Logan and Veronica dating. Hee. Also, Michael Muhney? Still hot.

--Okay, so I'm sure it didn't take the third viewing for the rest of you to notice, but I'm slow. THE ARMS! WE SAW THE ARMS! I didn't notice Logan's short-sleeved shirt at his locker until I watched the episode again this afternoon. Shut up. I was distracted by other things. :P

--The way Logan said the thing about what we know about Duncan was just...ouch, man. Poor kid.

--I was a little weirded out that Weevil just happened to be in the classroom behind Veronica while she was on the phone with her dad talking about Logan. But I've since decided that Weevil probably took it upon himself to keep his eye on Veronica and/or Logan ever since she ran away from him at the beginning of ATTTD, but especially since she called him to come get her from Logan's. Although, I am still confused about exactly why he thought beating Logan to a bloody pulp in the middle of the school parking lot with lots of people around would be a good idea.

--Duncan's trying-not-to-look face while they're watching the sex tape? KILLS ME DEAD. Heeeeee.

--I kinda liked the conspiratorial feel between Duncan and Veronica. The character of Duncan is so interesting on paper, if TD would just take some acting lessons I think I could really like him.

--And also, just for the record, I will be so upset if it's not Wallace at the door. Cutting from her closure with Lilly to a new beginning with Wallace is really the only way the season should have ended. Except of course, that if it was Wallace, why DIDN'T they just show it? Honestly, I think the door thing was kind of dumb. Unless of course RT wants to shock me with something insane next season. Which, you know, I would totally be okay with.


And now, if you'll excuse me, I have to go write a paper on Ann Coulter and the rabidly insane people who love and hate her. Ta.

(no subject)

Date: 2005-05-11 04:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] roxyoi301.livejournal.com
I was almost positive that Lynn was alive, until that kid brought in the footage. Then I was like "mmmph, I'm confused". Part of me wants to say she is alive b/c there is a lot of explaining to be done. Not sure if this will be the "big mystery" next season, seems like a good candidate, but who knows.

-I think she did tell Wallace when she had the cry on his bed. I'm not sure, but I had always gotten the impression that Wallace knew after that b/c he definately didn't know when he confronted her at the lockers that one time. But I could be wrong, that is just the impression I had after 1x21.

-I'm sure Lianne will be back. I just hope Keith never gives her a chance again. I'm sure he won't after he finds out it was Veronica's idea for Alicia to be there when he wakes up.

-We've talked about the Lamb vs Logan scene, hehe. You know my feelings on this. Ah the hotness that is them squaring off. Now only if it had been longer! Logan can't die b/c him and Lamb definately need more smartass scenes together.

-Now the arms. I had noticed the upper arms before when he wore tighter shirts, but yes, you definately caught a good one when you saw the bare lower arms. Good eye, hehe.

-Weevil must have been "stalking her" or he just hangs out in empty classrooms after school, hehe. I can't really figure this one out.

-I don't like Duncan, but admit, when we rewatch it today, that scene when he was adverting his eyes was hilarious, hehe, I did feel bad for him in this ep though.

-I'm going with it is Wallace at the door. I hope it is Logan, just for the sake that it will show he is still alive. But Wallace is the best choice. If not Logan, I hope it is him. She definately need a visit from Wallace after all that had happened. BFF, right?

(no subject)

Date: 2005-05-11 05:01 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] roxyoi301.livejournal.com
Sorry, I know my comment was totally repeatitive, and you already know my opinion on a lot of VM related stuff, but I'm just trying to make it look like I'm busy doing stuff tonight. and Yes posting a comment to you does make me look busy.

(no subject)

Date: 2005-05-12 08:46 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bellanut.livejournal.com
I can't handle this kind of talk! I need to be in some sort of oblivion where I can believe that Veronica and Logan have a chance. It's the only way I'll survive. Except, that I pretty much agree with what you're saying.

I don't think things are going to change much for Veronica at school. Even if the other kids start playing nice, she's never going to want anything to do with the people who didn't stand by her.

Oh man, I totally missed ghost Lilly saying that no one in her family was a killer! Good one!

I think Wallace did know about LoVe in the end for the same reason you give.

Word to everything else. I'm so sorry you have school work! School should have gone on holiday for this show!

(no subject)

Date: 2005-05-13 12:54 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] evergleam83.livejournal.com
I know what you mean. I want to believe those crazy kids will work it out, but eeeeeep. I'm not sure they can. They should, though, if only cause I need some more hot hot V/L kissing in my life. ;)

I think you're right that things won't change for Veronica at school. Even if all the 09ers accepted her again, she wouldn't want to be friends again. Besides, I think they probably won't reconsider when it comes to her--most of them still don't know what actually happened at the party that gave her her reputation.

The ghost!Lilly remark was really the only thing keeping me from deciding that it had to be a Kane who killed her. Still, I really wanted Celeste to have bopped her over the head for something really juicy. ALAS. :P

I hope Wallace knew about LoVe (hee) because I hate to see Veronica lie to him about stuff. I'm assuming she came clean, but I could also see the show bringing something like that up again later.

It really doesn't make sense that now that school's over and I have time to sit and do nothing but obsess over VM, the show's on hiatus. BOOOOOO.

Profile

evergleam: (Default)
evergleam

February 2011

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
202122232425 26
2728     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags