also, aren't hippies cool? I went to this town with three generations of hippies in it. Like in the fifties it was a mining town, but then all the mines shut down and so the houses that the mining company built for the miners were abandoned as the families moved to find new jobs and such. and so during the 'hippie revolution' a bunch of hippies left the city in search of somewhere new to live and they found this ghost town and squatted in the deserted houses. Well, those hippies had kids and their kids had kids and so everyone in this little town is a hippie. There are all sorts of artsy stores there now because they make a living in tourism. The property there has never been truly bought or sold, it's all just a happy peaceful and love-filled town. so, what do you think of hippies? ;D
That sounds like a cool place, where is it? It sounds kinda like a place a friend of mind grew up in.
Hippies are okay. The ones who believe in peace and hug trees and stuff are cool with me. ;) My best friend in the world goes to a hippie college with only 600 students, where there are no grades or tests or majors. Sometimes I'm very jealous. ;)
sooooo.... you're on my friends list and i on yours and yet i know oh so little about you (besides that everclear and other awesome old school bands)
anyhoo... how are things on the east coast? you know i live on the west coast and it's like almost 100 degrees here (really odd for this time of year!)
I've always wanted to go visit your part of the country! Where should i go?
The east coast is doing okay these days. Not quite in the midst of hurricane season yet. It's actually been a pretty mild summer thus far, pretty cool most days, which is very unusual for this time of year. Maybe you guys got all our heat and humidity. :P
You should come over here where I live. I'm near Baltimore and DC and Annapolis, all three have a lot of good reasons to visit (the inner harbour, tourist-y monuments, naval acadmey boys in in dress whites). Otherwise, you should go up north and see Boston and NYC or even Philly or Pittsburgh. All fun cities. There's not much to see south of us, though, unless you want to go down to Disney World. ;)
And funny enough, I've always wanted to see your part of the country. ;)
you should come visit... we don't have the big cities unless you get down into Cali and that's all fake glam anyway. The northwest (where i live) is the best... Lots to see and do nature wise... from where i live, you can drive 1 direction for an hour and be at the beach to tan and drive another direction and be at the mountain to go skiing. there's not a whole lot of touristy things around here except for driving a few hours to seattle. and if you're up there, you should go visit canada... victoria is the best.
you can take back your humidity. pllllleeeeeeeeassseeee... wer're all dying and grumpy as heck.
I might like Northern California, I think, but probably not so much SoCal. I have a couple friends from Washington, and they seem to love it there. I really just want to live on the coast somewhere, so up there would be a good place, I think. ;)
And I don't know if we took the humidity back, but today was hotter than the whole summer has been. :P
(no subject)
Date: 2004-07-20 10:11 am (UTC)also, aren't hippies cool? I went to this town with three generations of hippies in it. Like in the fifties it was a mining town, but then all the mines shut down and so the houses that the mining company built for the miners were abandoned as the families moved to find new jobs and such. and so during the 'hippie revolution' a bunch of hippies left the city in search of somewhere new to live and they found this ghost town and squatted in the deserted houses. Well, those hippies had kids and their kids had kids and so everyone in this little town is a hippie. There are all sorts of artsy stores there now because they make a living in tourism. The property there has never been truly bought or sold, it's all just a happy peaceful and love-filled town. so, what do you think of hippies? ;D
(no subject)
Date: 2004-07-20 01:47 pm (UTC)Hippies are okay. The ones who believe in peace and hug trees and stuff are cool with me. ;) My best friend in the world goes to a hippie college with only 600 students, where there are no grades or tests or majors. Sometimes I'm very jealous. ;)
(no subject)
Date: 2004-07-20 11:48 am (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2004-07-20 01:45 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2004-07-22 03:40 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2004-07-20 06:31 pm (UTC)anyhoo... how are things on the east coast? you know i live on the west coast and it's like almost 100 degrees here (really odd for this time of year!)
I've always wanted to go visit your part of the country! Where should i go?
---Jenny
(no subject)
Date: 2004-07-20 10:32 pm (UTC)You should come over here where I live. I'm near Baltimore and DC and Annapolis, all three have a lot of good reasons to visit (the inner harbour, tourist-y monuments, naval acadmey boys in in dress whites). Otherwise, you should go up north and see Boston and NYC or even Philly or Pittsburgh. All fun cities. There's not much to see south of us, though, unless you want to go down to Disney World. ;)
And funny enough, I've always wanted to see your part of the country. ;)
(no subject)
Date: 2004-07-21 07:17 am (UTC)hee hee!
you should come visit... we don't have the big cities unless you get down into Cali and that's all fake glam anyway. The northwest (where i live) is the best... Lots to see and do nature wise... from where i live, you can drive 1 direction for an hour and be at the beach to tan and drive another direction and be at the mountain to go skiing. there's not a whole lot of touristy things around here except for driving a few hours to seattle. and if you're up there, you should go visit canada... victoria is the best.
you can take back your humidity. pllllleeeeeeeeassseeee... wer're all dying and grumpy as heck.
(no subject)
Date: 2004-07-22 01:45 pm (UTC)And I don't know if we took the humidity back, but today was hotter than the whole summer has been. :P
(no subject)
Date: 2004-07-22 06:16 pm (UTC)oh man! it was hot here too!!!! like 99 and it's supposed to be 103 tomorrow! we never ever get that!